Sugar: a helluva drug

UUURRRRGGGHHHH.

Don’t get me wrong, I feel great. I’ve got more control over my diet (although eliminating sweets is still proving problematic) and after a patchy start I’m getting into the swing of it. Intense exercise early in the day sets you right up for whatever it chooses to throw at you.

So. Diet really is the main issue here. Before I started the SITC bootcamps I was reading up on the Paleo/Primal ways of eating (which the SITC eating plan strongly echoes) and experimented late last year with complete hard-to-the-core sugar elimination – boy, that hurt. I was suddenly aware of how much of the stuff I eat, and between banging headaches, office feeders, and a sudden desire to listen to Ke$ha, it became a physical as well as psychological battle.

The challenge is to not make it seem like one; the trick is to focus more on what I’m gaining (a smokin’ hot – I mean healthy – body) and less on what I’m losing (Kracky Kremes). It basically boils down to eating:

  • Protein – meat! Fish! Seafood! Yes! Lean and fatty cuts, nom nom nom. Barbecues are now my favourite thing.
  • Fat – oh yes. Lots of it. Animal fats and non-processed vegetable and nut oils (sesame, coconut, olive) are everything.
  • Dairy – not very much for me as I’m a little lactose intolerant, but the full-fat stuff beats the skinny variety for flavour and satiety any day.
  • Carbs – vegetables, starches and fruit the latter two reduced in quantity as they are relatively high in sugar. Yes, that thing I’m trying to cut down on, but this is the more healthy type.

…and saying ‘no’ to:

  • Processed fats – you’d be surprised how much work and chemicals go into making sunflower oils, margarines and the like. You’d probably be disgusted, too.
  • Refined carbs – Kracky Kremes, bread, white rice, white pasta. Anything grain-based, basically. That also means, for me, taking the ‘healthier’ brown varieties off the menu too. My stomach (and anyone standing behind me) has never been more grateful for this. Grains cause upset because, the theory goes, they aren’t meant to be eaten, and have evolved to irritate the gut of any animal foolish enough to eat them, never mind turn them into delicious cakes.
  • Low-fat anything – this will normally have had the fat stripped out and sugar added (in all its various ooh-look-I’m-not-called-sugar-but-I’m-as-sweet-by-a-different-name-ha-ha-ha guises). Exceptions? Greek yoghurt and milk. But we all know low-fat dairy just isn’t satisfying compared to its tastier cousin, right?

My Clean Eating Resources

