20120122-184702.jpg
The story so far…

I’m 2 weeks in and although life has got in my way, meaning I’ve missed classes this week, I’m aching all over.

So I missed the first day (Tuesday 10th January) due to an epic alarm clock fail. Not so on the Wednesay morning, where I joined Bangs and a Bun and her new Team Bangs girls in a City of London Fitness First for our training session with the Sexy In The City guys.

We went through a quick stretch, then were put through our paces by trainers Phil and Tim. Several circuits of six tough exercises later, everyone was glowing (um, panting and sweating). Fun was had, though. Well, I say ‘fun’, but taking it in turns to shift the heavily-weighted base was far better when it was over!

Having done both the standard SITC classes and the more running-specific classes with Team Bangs, I’m torn over which I prefer…

I like that the running-specific exercises – squats, medicine ball throws, planks, lunges – develop the rawww power GRRR I need in my legs to power me through 13 miles (or any miles), and in my upper body to get me up the Gherkin. However, there’s more heavy lifting in the standard classes, and having told Tim that I did Crossfit back in the summer, I’m encouraged to lift a little heavier. I love it – nothing makes me feel more… how you say… rarrrrr! than pushing some serious weight until I cry a little bit. So going forward, I’ll be mixing the two.

FOOD

I’ve got a ‘Secret, Sexy, Slim’ Nutrition Plan to follow. Nothing too arduous, but as you’ll see from my pic, we can all agree that eliminating sugar and processed food is the way forward. That stuff sticks to my belly. I wish it went on my hips, but that’s a different matter.

As I want to wear a crop top for the Berlin half marathon, my belly has GOT TO GO. There’s also Notting Hill Carnival to think about in August, and frankly my ‘biscuit diet’ left me feeling and looking distinctly under par. People, let me tell you: A diet based around chocolate caramel Digestives is not the lick! (Although I’m pleased to say I’ve been clean for about 2 months now).

I’ve been thinking about food in general recently, and have concluded that I run best on a relatively low-carb/high-protein diet. That means cutting out sugar, which is painnnnnful, but if I keep starches (sweet potatoes, plantain, bananas) to a minimum, and load up on meat, fat (yes!), non-starchy vegetables, salad, and a small amount of fruit (apples, berries etc) then that will accelerate results. And we like when results are accelerated, non?

The SITC plan is doable and flexible, and as an avowed lover of meat this works well for me. However… I’m also an avowed lover of sugar and all things refined/bloaty/processed/bleurgh so it’s also a bit of a challenge. So I’m going to do what I hadn’t anticipated doing and blog about my food intake, too.

Stay tuned for more progress – I’m aiming to see some real changes before these 4 weeks of bootcamp are out! Next week I aim to hit as many sessions as possible and really move some weight.

